Russian ruble, Currency

The ruble or rouble (Russian: рубль, plural рубли́; see note on spelling below) is the name of the currency of the Russian Federation and the two self-proclaimed republics, Abkhazia and South Ossetia (and formerly, of the Soviet Union and the Russian Empire). One rouble is divided into 100 kopeks, kopecks, or copecks (Russian: копе́йка, plural копе́йки). The ISO 4217 currency code for the Russian ruble is RUB; the former code, RUR, refers to the Russian ruble prior to the 1998 denomination (1RUB=1,000RUR). Read more >>

I want to convert:



North america








South America

Source: FOREX Bank
Source: ECB
A currency is a unit of exchange, facilitating the transfer of goods and services. It is a form of money, where money is defined as a medium of exchange (rather than e.g. a store of value). A currency zone is a country or region in which a specific currency is the dominant medium of exchange. To facilitate trade between currency zones, there are exchange rates i.e. prices at which currencies (and the goods and services of individual currency zones) can be exchanged against each other. Currencies can be classified as either floating currencies or fixed currencies based on their exchange rate regime. In common usage, currency sometimes refers to only paper money, as in "coins and currency", but this is misleading. Coins and paper money are both forms of currency. Read more >>