Romanian leu, Currency

The leu (/leŭ/, plural: lei /lej/; ISO 4217 code RON; numeric code 946) is the national currency of Romania. One leu is subdivided into 100 bani (singular: ban). Starting on 1 July 2005, Romania has undergone a currency reform, redenominating its currency and hence switching from the old leu (ROL) to the new leu (RON), both of which are called lei, abbreviated to L, in common usage. 1 RON is equal to 10,000 ROL. Read more >>

I want to convert:



North america








South America

Source: FOREX Bank
Source: ECB
A currency is a unit of exchange, facilitating the transfer of goods and services. It is a form of money, where money is defined as a medium of exchange (rather than e.g. a store of value). A currency zone is a country or region in which a specific currency is the dominant medium of exchange. To facilitate trade between currency zones, there are exchange rates i.e. prices at which currencies (and the goods and services of individual currency zones) can be exchanged against each other. Currencies can be classified as either floating currencies or fixed currencies based on their exchange rate regime. In common usage, currency sometimes refers to only paper money, as in "coins and currency", but this is misleading. Coins and paper money are both forms of currency. Read more >>